Skip to content

Zucchini Bread

August 1, 2012

It’s that time of year. The zucchini plants are churning out squash like there is no tomorrow. I swear those things grow an inch an hour. It’s a total green leafed conspiracy against us housewives, cooks, and gardeners for sure. Not a squash in sight this morning…..a bushel full tonight! Just as I put the latest batch in the frig, my husband comes in with more! So I am once again pressed to find new and creative recipes to feed my hungry husband and not bore us both to death. I’ve done quite well this year having tried several new recipes including stuffed zucchini boats, and a lovely yellow crook neck (oh yes, we have those too!) and zucchini squash with mushrooms casserole….both so yummy that I will add them to my permanent recipe collection and definitely make again…..probably in a day or so!

But I am tired of the main dishes and wanted to find a really great zucchini bread recipe. I wanted to have beautiful loaves stashed away in my freezer for the upcoming holiday season. I always think it so romantically holiday-ish and down home cozy when I visit friends or family at the holidays and as I leave they press a gorgeous loaf of some wonderful bread in my hands, or an exotic tin of freshly baked cookies, or some mouth watering pie. I want to be one of those people too but never seem to get around to baking ahead of time. So I have been on a quest for my guests! I have several recipes in my repertoire but none were what I would call “company wonderful” and I was in search of “company wonderful”. Today I  think I may have found it! It’s actually based on Paula Deen’s recipe…..you know her and how could one go wrong with her recipe? She is THE Southern Belle of cooking, charm, and wit featured on America’s cooking shows daily….also known as the “Queen of Butter”! I was brazen enough to tweak her recipe just a tad and have come up with what my husband says is the best zucchini bread he has ever eaten.  He’s a pretty good judge of homemade cuisine, and since he has managed to eat almost half a loaf since breakfast, it must be ok! Oh yes, I tasted too and I am pleased. So here my friends, in all it’s researched, tweaked, tried, and true glory……”Chatty Grandma’s Zucchini Bread”.

Image

Image

This is one very easy recipe. Took me no time at all, but it has a cinnamon twist to it and the brown sugar gives it that rich color while the applesauce makes it so super moist. Here is the recipe as I made it: Do enjoy!

Chatty Grandma’s Zucchini Bread

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

3 ¼ cups all purpose flour

1 ½ teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon nutmeg

3 teaspoons cinnamon                                   MIX ALL DRY INGREDIENTS

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

 

½ cup oil

½ cup applesauce

3 teaspoons vanilla

4 eggs                                                              COMBINE  WET INGREDIENTS

1/3 cup water

2 cups grated zucchini

1 teaspoon lemon juice

 

1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans and 1 cup dried cranberries (optional but oh so yummy!)

          

Mix wet ingredients into dry, add nuts.

 

Bake in 2 standard loaf pans, sprayed with non-stick spray for 1 hour

 

Or in 5 mini loaf pans for 45 minutes

 

Or  24 muffins bake for about 30 minutes

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Jeannie Lindberg permalink

    I am sooo excited to try this. I have been looking for a good recipe for zucchini bread for a long time. I tried several, combined a bunch and now I get to try yours . . . could you please send me some of your zucchini . . the squash bores and drought killed all my summer squash plants. I have some started but it will be several weeks yet before they produce. This is such a fun blog! I look forward to reading it.

    • Would LOVE to send you some of my zucchini. 🙂

  2. You are so a talented baker! This is so amazing! =)

Leave a Reply

